We do not make it a habit to interview actors, for even though they certainly hold an important place in filmmaking, the mainstream media, newspapers and other writers focus on lead stars to whom society usually gives the limelight; thus we normally leave this part to others. But today let us feature an actor whose name may not be too familiar in the Philippines, but whose dedication to his role is undeniable—fresh from receiving the Kim Jiseok Award for Brillante Mendoza’s Gensan Punch at this year’s Busan International Film Festival, here is Japanese actor Shogen.

Model-turned-actor, this gentle but apparently formidable Okinawan has appeared in films such as Okinawan Blue, Street Fighter: Assassin’s Fist and Deathnote among many others.

He has taken the lead role in the film Gensan Punch, directed by Brillante Mendoza, and a co-production by Philippines’ multi-awarded independent outfit Center Stage Productions and Japan-based Gentle Underground Monkeys, and SC Films International.

Inspired by a real story, Gensan Punch is about Nao, a Japanese who has a prosthetic leg; dreaming of becoming a professional boxer, he takes a chance and travels to the Philippines to train and gain respect as a legitimate ring fighter. The rights to the film has been acquired by HBO, and it is currently being screened at the 34th Tokyo International Film Festival (October 30-November 8).

Shogen as Nao, in a scene taken in Okinawa, Japan

OPF: Were you able to easily relate to Nao/your character in Gensan Punch

ShogenYes I was. First of all, we both went abroad to make dream come true. I’ve been told that I don’t look like Japanese since I was a kid so I always felt like I was an outsider as he said he felt the same way. 

Second we have issues with our fathers, but close to our mothers. They support our dreams no matter what happens

OPF: How did you get to work with Center Stage Productions? 

Shogen: I talked to my friend, Singaporean director Eric Koo about this project and he said Brillante would be perfect for the director. So we went to Busan International Film Festival in 2018 then Eric introduced us to him for the first time. That was the beginning of pitching this project.

OPF: Mendoza has the reputation of never giving scripts in advance. How did you adjust to that?

ShogenI heard about it from the beginning. So I just believed in him and immersed myself in the role all the time.  I tried to be raw and spontaneous whatever comes next. 

Shogen (as Nao) in a scene shot in Mandaluyong City, Philippines

OPF: Mendoza prefers to make scenes as realistic as possible, to the point of making an actor feel exhausted so it will be convincing. Was there a time when you felt like quitting?

ShogenNever felt like quitting, but one time in the important scene of confronting my coach, it took forever. Because we couldn’t get to the point where Director Mendoza was satisfied. We repeated filming over and over, and I was finally relieved when I heard he said OK and felt such a sense of accomplishment.

OPF: Your boxing scenes were big events that require hundreds of extras, did you expect that your big scenes will be mobbed and supported by people? 

ShogenTo be honest I had fear before bouts because our fight scenes were not choreographed, just improvised as sparring. I didn’t know what’s going to happen in the ring. But the shouts and applause of the audience encouraged me. I felt very blessed and overwhelmed. I realized that is the reason why boxers get in the ring. Come to think of it, we were very fortunate to finish shooting before the corona virus pandemic struck. I don’t think we would be able to shoot with large audience for a while.

OPF: As an actor, how hard is the making of Gensan Punch compared to your other films?

ShogenThat’s totally Incomparable. I started up this project by myself as a producer as well which is not normal in Japan. I’ve been dedicating myself to make this lifelong dream happen. There were so many difficulties but I’ve overcome because of everybody’s support. As an actor I really had to dig deeper into myself to face the feeling about my own father, which I’ve been avoided for a long time. That was the hardest part for me but I knew I definitely needed it in order to play this role. 

OPF: How did you feel when Gensan Punch won the Kim Jiseok Award in Busan?

Shogen: It was such an honor to win the prestigious award. To be honest, I hadn’t really thought about it. I felt our efforts were rewarded.

OPF: What do you feel now that Gensan Punch is screened at the 34th Tokyo International Film Festival?

Shogen: I’m so excited to have screening and the Q&A. Finally, I will be able to show my family, also Nao and his family. Hope they will enjoy the film.

OPF: Invite our readers to watch Gensan Punch.

ShogenThis is a film inspired by the true story about a Japanese boxer with a  prosthetic leg who pursued his dream in Philippines. I admire the way he keeps a positive state of mind in spite of all difficulties. I hope this film will encourage you to go your own way and never let your beliefs be shaken.